JFK Park & Arboretum

Dedicated to the memory of John Fitzgerald Kennedy, President of the United States from 1960 to 1963, the Arboretum is a plant collection of international standing. It covers 252 hectares (623 acres) on the southern slopes and summit of Slievecoiltia. It contains 4,500 types of trees and shrubs from all temperate regions of the world, planted in botanical sequence. There are 200 forest plots grouped by continent. Special features include an Ericaceous Garden, (with 500 different rhododendrons, and many varieties of azaleas and heathers), dwarf conifers, hedges, ground covers and climbing plants. A Visitor Centre houses exhibitions and audio visual show. Access for people with disabilities.

JFK Park & Arboretum

Hook Lighthouse

Light up your day at Hook Lighthouse, 800 years of light keeping. One of the Oldest Lighthouses in the World, a favourite with Lonely Planet and Tripadvisor. Marking the entrance to Waterford Harbour at the mouth of the Three Sisters river system for over 800 years. The Visitor centre which is open year round at Hook Lighthouse and offers guided tours of the Medieval lighthouse tower. Purpose built as a lighthouse 800 years ago, and still fully operational today, Hook Lighthouse truly is one of a kind! Our friendly staff are happy to help with any tourist information you require.

Hook Lighthouse

Tintern Abbey

The Earl of Pembroke founded Tintern Abbey just 16km south of New Ross in about 1200, when, during a treacherous journey on ship, he vowed to establish an abbey if he reached land safely. The abbey is thus often called Tintern de Voto, or Tintern of the Vow. It was colonised by the Cistercian monks from the abbey at Tintern, Wales, of which the Earl was also a patron. Today, visitors to the lovely County Wexford site can view the remains of the nave, chancel, tower, chapel and cloister. Tintern Abbey is located 16km south of New Ross off the R734 road or 29km from Wexford off the Wexford to Ballyhack road R733.

Tintern Abbey

Loftus Hall

Loftus Hall is a large mansion house on the Hook peninsula, County Wexford, Ireland. It is said to have been haunted by the devil and by the ghost of a young woman. The Redmond family built the original house in 1350 during the time of the Black Death. It replaced their original castle at Houseland near Portersgate. The building that exists today was heavily renovated between 1870 and 1879 by the 4th Marquess of Ely. In 1983, it was purchased by Michael Deveraux who reopened it as “Loftus Hall Hotel”, which was subsequently closed again in the early 1990s. It was privately owned by Deveraux’s surviving family until late 2011, when it was sold to its current owners, the Quigley family from Carrig on Bannow.

Loftus Hall

Dunbrody Famine Ship Experience

Dunbrody Famine Ship is one of the premier tourist attractions in the South East of Ireland. Centred on an authentic reproduction of an 1840’s emigrant vessel, it provides a world-class interpretation of the famine emigrant experience. Incorporating guided tour, costumed performers and themed exhibitions of the highest quality, ‘The Dunbrody’ provides a unique insight into the bravery and fortitude with which Irish people faced up to a desperate situation. As well as the Ship’s Tour, the Dunbrody Visitor Centre houses a charming river-view café and the Irish America Hall of Fame.

Dunbrody Famine Ship Experience

The Kennedy Homestead

The Kennedy Homestead, a unique cultural museum is dedicated to “the Kennedys who went away and the Kennedys who stayed behind” and plays a vital part in the continued preservation of the Kennedy legacy in Ireland. The curators of the Kennedy Homestead Visitor Centre, using the Kennedy Library archival collection in Boston, have created a state of the art interpretative exhibit which explores the circumstances of Patrick Kennedy’s departure from Ireland in 1848. Facilities at the Homestead include a unique collection of Kennedy memorabilia, audio-visual display, souvenir shop, picnic area, wheelchair access and extensive car and coach parking facilities.

The Kennedy Homestead

Irish Agricultural Museum

The spectacular ornamental grounds and gardens surrounding the 19th century castle were designed by Daniel Robertson who is famed for the gardens at Powerscourt in Co. Wicklow. Johnstown Castle estate has been home to two prominent Wexford families. The first owners were the Esmondes; a Norman family who settled in the county in the 1170s. They constructed the tower houses at Johnstown and Rathlannon during the 15th or 16th century. Today Teagasc, the Agricultural and Food Development Authority, is the owner of the Johnstown Castle estate and has a research facility on site.

Irish Agricultural Museum
Baginbun Lodge

Main Street, Ramstown, Fethard, Co. Wexford, Y34 DH56. Phone: (051) 397 160. Email: info@baginbunlodge.ie